Ode to “Animal” Robinson from Somebody Who Cared

As Told By Andrew James Murdoch Stephen

I first met Animal when I was volunteering at a homeless shelter and serving meals…..he was a cool guy, enormous in stature, very very friendly, only with me, not the staff, who he seemed to have constant run ins with…….but, he and I and a few other of the cool staff got along with him enormously……he used to hang out with one of our Red Brothers named Andy with no front teeth and the three of us after dinner was served would play cards for hours and hours.  At the time my wife and I were commissioning the building of my trike……a three wheel Harley….because being part paralyzed I cannot ride a two wheeler anymore……and Animal was so involved and enthused and eager to see each picture as the project continued…..much to my disbelief I found out one day that that nice soul’s life was snuffed out in a drinking binge with a younger punk who got the jump on him……do you know the irony?……when I was in a head injury hospital after my motorcycle accident my window would have directly overlooked the crime scene……anyways……as soon as I heard Animal was murdered I immediately called the funeral home to ask the families permission to ride my trike as an honour guard on his way to his final rest…….would you believe the Robinson family, his family, agreed immediately and asked that I would be riding behind the hearse…..and that is Dear Reader an honour.  To make a long story short……when he was being carried into some type of mauseleum I assume to be cremated…..I did not get off my trike…..I just twisted the throttle of my Harley and let it Roar! and Roar! and Roar! as a final salute and tribute to who was a Human Being that I was honoured to know and talk to……so next time you meet somebody who is homeless and is disheavelled…..and goes by the name of Animal….do not always be afraid…..I never was and he gave me much insight and understanding and humility……and I will always remember “Animal” Robinson……a really really nice soul!  And just to show that he was watching over me……when I rode back from the mauseleum all the way down the 417 me thinking about him all the way…….some ten miles……just as I turned the corner three houses away from mine my drive chain let go…….imagine that……Thanks for getting me home and thanks for not letting you down in our procession!…….God does work in his mysterious ways……..anyways……….just something that I had to say…….I always remember you Mr. Robinson…….Thanks for letting me know you and for being a friend……Peace Out, Andy……

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, Fact, Inspirational, Letter to my Friends, Life, World View

Leave a Reply

